Nursing in Community College

<p>Hi, I am just wondering how to you get admitted for Nursing as freshmen? I graduated college already last 2 years ago and my GPA is really bad. I was a fool during that time. So, my plan is, go to Community College then transfer to university. Nursing in Community College is hard to get in because they are saying it's Limited Entry. Any suggestion for this? What should i take? Thanks in advance</p>

<p>Usually for CC you can get your RN degree in just two years. You wouldn’t need to transfer to a university, you can just sit for the NCLEX exam and once you pass, you’re an RN! </p>

<p>In Maryland at least, the NCLEX pass rates are a bit higher on average for the CC’s versus the 4 year degree programs. I think it may be because they do two years of nursing and only nursing, so that they retain what they need for the exam. A couple of counties have 100% pass rates. </p>

<p>If it’s limited entry, they may have prerequisites that you have to do first (you can likely do them at the CC) and/or there’s a waiting list because of high demand. Call and find out. Good luck!</p>

<p>Nursing at a community college will take 3 years, not two years. This is because you must take a few prerequisite classes (like two semesters of A&P and that takes one year to complete) BEFORE you can even apply for a slot in the nursing program. Once you are in the program, you may complete the program in two years and then sit for the NCLEX. </p>

<p>In a nursing program at comm college, you are required to take non-nursing classes also. At least that is the case in my daughter’s program. </p>

<p>I suspect that the NCLEX pass rate for comm colleges is higher because they offer harder programs. They do not coddle the students at all.</p>

<p>

The first half of your statement is clearly an opinion. You “suspect that the NCLEX pass rate for comm colleges is higher…”