Nursing professor - BSN/MSN after PhD?

<p>Hi. This may not be a great place to ask this, but I'll try.</p>

<p>I'm currently getting a PhD in sociomedical sciences, which is a joint program in social psychology and the social and behavioral sciences in public health. I am in my fourth year and should finish next year. Currently my goal is to finish up, pursue a postdoctoral fellowship and then try to get a position as a professor with a low enough courseload (2-3 classes per semester) that I can get a good research career going. Some of you may know that the academic job market is pretty bad. It's not as bad in public health as it is in, say, English or history - but it's not too good, either.</p>

<p>One place where the academic job market is astoundingly good, though, is nursing. It was through looking for postdocs that I found this out. While most schools aren't even hiring in psychology and may be looking for 1 professor in public health (and not necessarily in my department), even the tippy top nursing schools I've looked at have advertised positions for 3-4 nursing professors, many in fields I'm interested in.</p>

<p>In the course of searching for postdocs I've realized that nursing researchers do the SAME work I'm interested in (which is the intersection between mental health and HIV in women, access to care for both mental health services and HIV in women, and patient-provider relationships in both areas, as well as the use of nurses and other mid-level providers in both areas). The difference is that they have a clinical competency, they have far more geographical freedom because of the national shortage of nursing professors, and they get paid more.</p>