Oberlin's Attitude Towards Basic Musicians?

I want to apply to Oberlin for computer science/psychology. I was psyched about its huge music presence on campus because I am a choir junkie and I want to stay involved in music because I love it. However, I’m no expert by far. If I wanted to get involved with music on campus, would people brush me off or judge me because I’m not majoring in it and/or because I don’t have much knowledge? How hard would it be for me to get involved in a vocal group that isn’t super hardcore but more for the fun of it?

When my daughter was doing a similar search, the impression I got was that Lawrence U and St. Olaf had more inclusive music programs, for non-majors, that Oberlin, while still offering the huge music presence that you’re looking for. Don’t take my word for it, certainly, but those would be good schools to compare.

Agreed that, in the past, Lawrence and St Olaf were more welcoming to non-Con (Lawrence) or non-majors (St Olaf). However, Oberlin’s recent strategic plan outlines a move to shrink the Con and expand music opportunities to College (as opposed to Con) students. So, on balance, I would say this is a work in progress/moving target and really hard to know how the changes will impact non-Con students at Oberlin. The beauty of Oberlin is that it is a music-rich community, so there is much to savor. For an applicant, I’d encourage detailed questions to get a clear picture of what the experience will look like going forward.