***Official Thread for 2017 BSMD applicants***

This is a placeholder for discussions related to BS/MD applications for 2017

Courtesy @Roentgen

Questions you should think about for medical school selection

https://dornsife.usc.edu/assets/sites/1/docs/advising/prehealth/New_Logo-35_Questions.pdf

Thanks for starting the thread. We will be participating in the discussions :slight_smile:

Hey guys, I’m currently a bs/md student at Robert Morris/Drexel med, finishing my 3rd year undergrad. Here are my stats and past experience: Inbox me if you have any questions!
Class Rank 2/166
Unweighted GPA 4.00/4.00 or 100%
Weighted GPA - ?/4.00, 103 %

SAT:
Total - 1980/2400 (one sitting)
M - 720/800
CR - 640/800
W - 720/800

ACT: 32

SAT II:
Math 2: 710
Chemistry: 690

AP classes - 8 total
Calc AB -5
Calc BC - 5
Chem - 4
US history -3
US gov’t
biology
physics
english

Leadership
Spanish Club Vice-President
Students Against Destructive Decisions Club (S.A.D.D.) Vice-President
Editor in Chief of literary magazine
Academic Games Team Captain
Moody’s Mega Math Challenge Team Captain
Math Club President
Concert Choir Secretary

Awards and Recognition
High Honor Roll
Bauch and Lomb Honorary Science Award from U of Rochester- top student in Biology, Chemistry, and Physics
Outstanding Student Award in Physics
1st place Physics Olympic Team Member
Top 10% Moody’s Mega Math Challenge Team
AP Scholar with Honors

Extracurricular Activities
Gifted Student Program
National Honor Society
Show Choir and Concert Choir selective ensemble
MAA American Mathematics Competition
High School Mathematical Contest in Modeling Team (HiMCM)
Physics Club member

Volunteering
Hospital - 75 hours
School volunteering (aide, student tutor, committees, etc ~ 170 hours

Shadowing
3 different fields, 40 hours total

Research
Yes, with a teacher for the past year

Applied to the following BS/MD programs:

1. Rosemont/Drexel - interviewed at drexel - accepted
  2. Kean/Drexel -interviewed @drexel - waitlisted