OOS Junior trying to put together her list-Should UW-M be on it?

<p>Hi everyone,</p>

<p>Like so many of my soon to be senior peers, I am starting to put together my list of schools to apply to. Reaches, matches and safeties. I have a pretty good idea of what I want to major in depending on what the particular school offers, and a pretty good idea of what I want my undergraduate experience to include. I want to ultimately work in historic preservation in some capacity, possibly through the architectural route or urban planning. I will most likely major in history, geography, or urban planning or go the arch route (but the arch program would need to have that historical emphasis for me to consider it).</p>

<p>I am a strong student in the classroom, 4.5 GPA, 6th/344, 7 APs upon graduation, numerous ECs and leadership stuff. Unfortunately........my SAT's are low. 1170 first time in May, took again June 2 ( scores come out this Thursday- fingers and toes crossed! :))and will take in Oct. I guess I would be considered a unique applicant in that I am hearing impaired and wear a cochlear implant. I am looking at some OOS schools to consider, especially ones with strong academic reputations like Wisconsin, but I will need to be competitive for merit money that would essentially bring the cost down to 23K or so. I live in Virginia. </p>

<p>Here are my questions to all of you:</p>

<p>What have your experiences been like for students like me being awarded scholarships with stats like mine? Is this school an option for me?</p>

<p>What are the history and geography (esp cultural geography) programs like there?</p>

<p>Thank you so much for your help. I have also been looking at Michigan, but I know their OOS money is very tight. I was just wondering if Wisconsin's was any better. Have a nice day and Happy Father's Day to all of you dads! :)</p>

<p>I hope the best for you. I will probably get crap from other posters for being direct.</p>