Picking Between the Three Mid-Tier UCs

Hello Everyone!

I am from California, and in my college we have what we call TAG (Transfer Acceptance Guarantee) two all three lower level UCs as well as all three Mid-Tier UCs. These are UCI, UCSB, and UCD. By meeting the requirements that each of these universities presents to you, you are allowed to transfer to them and have a guaranteed acceptance response from them. The catch is, however, that you can only apply to one of them. Naturally, with a UC school, they all cost about the same and the only difference between them is their perceived quality, so, of course, one will want a guaranteed transfer to the best one of them.

Given this, here is more about me. I am a student of political science and international relations. Given this, which school do you think is best for that major and why? Also, don’t just include school rankings. If you have personal experience with the area and the style of the university and all of that please include it as well as I want to take all into consideration when making my decision. I suppose that I am technically asking which you like more and why.

Thank you very much guys.

Davis- A number of my dd’s classmates did internships at the State Capitol.
Great college town! 40K bikes at Davis!

I’d suggest that you visit the website for the poli sci / IR department for each campus and do some research:

1> See what is required for the majors – I think you will find some differences at each campus as to how the majors are structured and what is required.

2> Explore what courses are offered-- there can be significant variations in course offerings, particularly at the upper division level.

3> Look up the names of faculty and try to learn something about them to get a sense of what their interests or focus might be. Very often there will be a list of their publications or projects on a faculty bio page on the college website; Google might be a source of more information.