Pre-med at Oberlin / Transferring out

Hi everyone,

I’m a rising sophomore at Oberlin College seeking advice re: transferring. I’m on a pre-med track, and anticipate majoring in neuroscience. I loved my first year at Oberlin; the professors are incredible, and the student body is “my type”. I also loved taking classes across all subject matters. I involved myself with many organizations on campus and tried to utilize every resource given to me.

However, upon completion of my first year, I started to realize that one aspect in my college experience was lacking; resources and development to prepare me for medical school. I feel so lost and unprepared in comparison to other students my age at other institutions. Our pre-med community is so small that we don’t even have a medical careers club or society active currently. I find the pre-med advising to be underwhelming and disorganized. I feel like I’ve had to find every research/volunteer/clinical opportunity by myself – I don’t mean to sound lazy, I just wish there were better resources and connections for me considering the tuition of this school!

In summary, I’ve found these issues the most concerning…

• we lack any affiliations, partnerships, or connections with research hospitals or universities to provide internships. There is nothing offered for the summer or for the school year
  • Lack of alumni outreach
  • Not many students matriculating directly into medical school; being prepared to take a gap year is one of the first things mentioned to pre-med students here
  • Lack of MCAT preparation resources / medical school preparedness (according to conversations with upperclassmen)

However, the double edged sword here is that we don’t have a cut-throat pre-med environment. Research opportunities for biology, neuroscience, and chemistry are also vast and easy to get involved with. I’m also happy here.