Preparing for Microbiology

<p>I will be taking microbiology as a nursing major my sophomore year. However, I'm a bit worried about it because I haven't had any kind of biology since I was a freshman in high school and the material is a bit fuzzy to me. I am wondering if there are any good microbiology or just regular biology preparation books or even video lectures online that I could study to help give me a little boost. I don't want to go as far as taking a non-credit online class because I don't have the money and I plan on doing that for Anatomy and physiology</p>

<p>I've tried searching myself and I haven't been successful in finding anything. Could anybody refer me to any prep books, videos, etc. that would be at all helpful?</p>

<p>Thank you!</p>

<p>I’d look for the same book that was used at that college for the intro biology class. That is the material that the prof will expect people to know.</p>

<p>I have almost no scientific background - my high school was a joke and did not even have honors courses (it was a technical school). My first college bio course, which I took 5 years out of high school, was anatomy and physiology 1 - so I can assure you I knew none of the “basics” - and I ended up getting an A-. I wouldn’t stress too much about studying before you even have the class. Most textbooks will define “simple” bio terms even if the professor does not bother to cover them, so just do your reading and pay attention in class. If the prof does talk about something that you know little about, or are confused about, then make an appointment to chat with them after class.</p>

<p>Thank you for your responses.</p>

<p>NovaLynnx, do you mind if I PM you?</p>

<p>No, I don’t mind.</p>