Questions about College Life

<p>Hey all. I’m currently a freshman, going into my second semester here at the University of Alabama. I have a few questions that I really need answering, and would appreciate the help.</p>

<ol>
<li>I currently am registered for UH210, Arts of Tuscaloosa, and have heard that there are quite a few off-campus events. I am considering getting a bike for this semester, but will that work for the events that are far from campus? I know I read somewhere on here that it was a fifteen minute drive for one of the events before, and that is not really encouraging. </li>
</ol>

<p>Also, is the class a lot of work? I’m currently at 18 hours, not including an hour of research, and I don’t really want to have a greater burden writing long essays every week combined with my current workload. </p>

<ol>
<li><p>I’m thinking about joining a fraternity this Spring, but I’m unsure how to start the process? Any general advice on how to get your name in an start meeting people? I’ve kind of started the process with one fraternity, and I have been invited to several events, but declined to attend because it was during the football games. But one problem I have as of now is I don’t know anyone in a fraternity. My former roommate was in Alpha Tau Omega, but he withdrew from the university, so there goes my only connection. I’m also just a bit nervous doing this thing on my own as an out-of-stater, since none of my friends are interested in joining. Are there any fraternities that are party light and are focused on other things like volunteering, normal social events, etc.? I’m looking to make some good friends and to have a great time at the university, but I don’t want to give up on my studies at all. </p></li>