Racial Concerns at UA

Hello all. I am a prospective student at UA and hope to attend next fall. The University of Alabama is currently my top choice. Earlier this year I would not have considered myself a fan of the Tide, but after visiting a few months ago, something about it felt like I was at home. The campus was amazing, the dorms looked great, and the atmosphere seemed very inviting. I am an Alabama resident as well, so I receive in-state tuition (and I also qualify for scholarships), so its reduced cost for all it offers also plays a part in it being my top choice. Really academics, programs, and opportunities lured me in. I am currently interested in majoring in Creative Media at UA and (hopefully) becoming a member of the MDB (hands down one of the best bands around). I’m also not interested in going Greek (partially for the reason I’m about to ask about, and also because it just isn’t me).

I love UA, but I am concerned about potential racial tension at the school. I know that since there are nearly 40,000 students it’s really hard to know what to expect, and, obviously, there are going to be a few bad apples, but I was just curious what experiences others have had? I am an African-American male student, but I do come from an area that is predominately white (my school probably has around 20% of blacks attending and I have had classes where I was the only non-white student, so I’m used to the split) and I have not ever encountered any racism (towards me, at least) at my school or around town. Certain things don’t necessarily phase me, but I also don’t want to walk into a trap.