Rec letter emergency! Help!

<p>One of my teachers from high school, who graduated from UW, wrote me a rec letter and gave me 5 copies. Since I only needed one, I of course opened one of them to see what was said. All of it was great, except one thing---my teacher said that my major is policital science and it is psychology!!!</p>

<p>WHAT DO I DO? The letter is due Feb 1st</p>

<p>Is it going to hurt me if I send it as is? Will it be rude to ask for a change when my teacher went to so much trouble? </p>

<p>FYI I am applying for transfer from a community college</p>

<p>You’re generally not supposed to read letters of rec…</p>

<p>But if you were allowed to read it (and the teacher was okay with that) then you could mention it to the teacher in a very polite way. Changing the title of the major is relatively little work compared to writing the letter so I’m sure it wouldn’t be considered that rude.</p>

<p>I didn’t know students weren’t normally allowed to read letters of rec. I’ve seen all of mine–woops!</p>

<p>It’s a big deal a lot of places. For a lot of schools you have to waive your right to view recs…</p>

<p>Man I wish I’d been able to read mine!</p>

<p>If I was praising a student, I would let that student read it. Darn teachers and such!</p>

<p>Well the theory is that if teachers know a student will read the recs they make them better/will be influenced to not show their true opinion.</p>

<p>That’s understandable. Haha, my engineering teacher wrote about my pros AND cons, but he still showed me. I’m glad I got a chance to see mine though. Sorry for not sticking to the purpose of this thread, rac!</p>

<p>Haha I really wish I had been able to see mine! Yeah we’re off topic, but why stop now lol. You’re doing engineering in school?</p>