Second bachelors or Masters

Hey CC. I’m a UT-Austin graduate (class of 2020) who currently is struggling to get my life together and need advice on what to do moving forward with my career.

I graduated with a STEM degree (Applied Math with a minor in CS). I struggled to find a job after hundreds of applications and dozens of failed interviews but managed to land a decent job that does not put my degree to use. I am working in technical support remotely. Not trying to sound selfish, but after being in this role for a little over a year now, I feel like a failure and I should be doing better for myself. I also despise waking up working the 9-6 Monday through Friday doing repetitive work.

I’ve been really wanting to do something more scientific or technical. Originally I intended to major in mechanical engineering/computer science but could not get in so I went with my backup plan of majoring in math and minoring in CS. I realized this is a big mistake and early 20’s me should have transferred to another university to accomplish my goals. I now struggle to find time to hone my technical skills working full time and would love to go back to school to start over as I feel this is the best path to remedy this.

So I’ve been planning on going back to school in Fall 2024 for either a second bachelor’s or a master’s. I know it’s ultimately on me to make that decision and I can only decide my own fate, but I wanted to see if I can gather any insight. I’m 25 and living with my parents currently and would likely be 28-29 if I do graduate with a second bachelors. I was thinking of going to one of lower tier universities in Texas (Texas Tech, UTD, UNT, UTSA). Or should I push towards a masters with my background even if I don’t really have the right work experience? I just find it hard to get LORs for what many masters programs are requiring. Or should I just grit my teeth and hone a technical skill and keep applying?