Send a 32 ACT score?

Hello all,

I was deferred from Pomona in EDI back in December. Following that, I decided to do the Feb ACT as a way to add more evidence to my application. I scored a 32, which was literally a point (ok… maybe two points) lower than I wanted. What is so frustrating is that I got a 35 on Math and English, but a 28 and 31 on Science and Reading, respectively.

This was my first attempt at the SAT/ACT. (I tried doing the SAT three times in 2021, but all were cancelled due to COVID-19 restrictions.) Normally, I would just try the ACT again for a better superscore, but that is not an option.

My question is, do I submit this score despite it being on the edge?

A little more context:

• I was an A/A- student in HS, but averaged B in my junior year. I did the IB Diploma.
  • I’m from NZL, which was COVID-free until the end of last year so we don’t really have a reason not to do tests.

Since getting deferred, I’ve been able to send Pomona extra info:

• My final IB score was a 40. Good, but considering grade inflation in the IB, I think a 40 is the new 36-38.
  • A note that I’ve completed a few courses on coursera for computer science (which I want to study, but wasn’t able to in HS).
  • I’m considering an additional recommendation letter (I accidentally had three written for me because my counsellor was… not on top of things).

So, with all that extra information, will a 32 ACT hurt, harm, or do nothing.

Colleges that I’ve applied to and where I can’t decide if I send scores:

• Pomona College [2024 middle 50% was 32-35, 2025 median was 34]
  • UChicago [2025 middle 50% was 33-35]

This isn’t a chance me. I just want people’s informed opinions about what they would do given my profile. I’ve done my own research but I feel that I have succumbed to confirmation bias. I don’t want all that time spent studying to go to waste.

Please help.