Serious IB Problem (Subjects VS Diplomma)

<p>Hi there, </p>

<p>Do universities scrutinize individual IB subjects or look at the IB diplomma points overall? As I posted a bit in another thread, I was really ill last year and did horribly on my IB-- one of these classes was a self-taught subject that I cannot retake in November. I ended up with a 4 in one subject which I cannot retake. I do plan to retake all other 5 subjects this November. </p>

<p>Even if I were to redo my other classes and end up with 40 IB points overall (including bonus points) will universities be put off by the 4 in one subject or will they look at my 40 IB diplomma points as a whole? </p>

<p>Please help.</p>

<p>Bump? Or something?</p>

<p>One 4 is not going to kill your record. Are you mostly 7’s in your other subjects? At the end of the day it’s your overall score that is more impressive.</p>

<p>If a college looks at your scores it will be for placement. I wouldn’t stress too much over them.</p>

<p>the only colleges that would care about your IB scores are international universities.</p>

<p>Most U.S. schools recognize the IB Diploma/ classes credit in some fashion. Typically schools award credit for scores in HL, usually 5 and up. But, sometimes 4s do get you some credit. </p>

<p>If you are able to get the IB Diploma, the school usually awards more credit than if you just do subject tests.</p>

<p>All top schools in the U.S., especially Ivies, do hold the IB program in high regard. It is also helpful in international schools. If you want a U.S. college though, look at schools in Florida. Those schools award the most credit (SL and HL) out of any schools I’m considering.</p>

<p>A four is passing. Assuming you took it junior year, it’s an SL course anyway, which won’t give you college credit (for the most part). Plus, the others above are right: the college won’t care about one IB test score. You passed your test; do well on other tests and you’ll receive your diploma.</p>