Should I do the IBDP?

<p>I'm 18 this year, and I have been studying A Levels privately throughout the year. I am almost done, too. However, universities in the U.S. are concerned regarding ECAs and mine are not too stellar. When I was in school, I was the captain of the soccer team (Female football team.) and I joined societies like MUN, St. John's and the Performing Arts Club, but I did not really initiate having positions of any sort. I decided to quit school when I was 16, and I took a year off before studying for my A Levels. I also managed a store filled with medical equipment (Yes, I was a manager at the age of 17...) for 6 months and worked at a smoothie bar for a few months. I am finishing my A Levels soon, but I'd have to stay back in my country until I'm nearly 20 - seeing as I have to learn German for a year and I'd be too late to apply for next year's intake anyhow. </p>

<p>So, should I do the IBDP at the age of 18+ (After doing A Levels) and graduate at the age of 20+? It would probably increase my chances of getting into places like MIT, UCLA, Georgetown and Princeton (As well as getting a full scholarship from a local agency. Yes, I am aware it's extremely difficult to get a place in any of the top schools...). Is it worth the extra year? I do have stellar recommendation letters, though - regardless of whether I do the IB or not. It's just my ECAs, and the lack of community service (CAS would help this, and community service is a passion of mine..). If my major matters, I'd like to do Linguistics + Anthropology, Neuroscience, International Relations or Political Science (Honestly, SFS would be one of my main choices!).</p>