Should I join IB

Hi guys Im currently a sophomore and
deciding on whether or not to do the whole IB diploma. My councler has told me that I
should not take the IB program because I
won’t do well, but I am scared she is right. I have only taken honors and 1 AP class. I am a student who gets letter grades of B’s and A’s, and a hardworker. What I would like to know is if IB classes are different from AP/honors? Will the IB diploma benefit me in the future (ex: collage) ? I hear that IB gives a ton of classwork and is more challening BUT prepares you for collage more than AP classes do. I would really want to know what some IB graduates
thought of the program. What are you doing
now? Was it worth taking? Did the IB program prepare you for collage? Any adivise? IS IB AS SCARY AS IT SOUNDS?
Thank you :slight_smile:

Honestly, IB sucks for many and is a helping hand for some. It is a lot more work and a lot more pain. If you think you can handle it, however go for it. But truthfully NOBODY can tell you how you will end up doing on an exam, so if YOU want to do IB then go right ahead. What kind of counselor would even say such a crappy thing??

I agree, how could your counselor say that? They should be encouraging you to take the most challenging courses available in school, which is IB in your case. BTW, colleges rather see you take challenging courses and get average grades, than to take easy courses and get “amazing” grades.