Social life meh, is a transfer worth it?

Sophomore at reputable mid sized state school thinking of transferring to smaller school, probably William and Mary. As a freshman I got along with the people on my floor, but this year I’m off campus and barely see them. I realize now that I didn’t really make great friends last year, and only hung around those dudes because of proximity. I’m not a recluse: I’m apart of a bunch of different clubs on campus, go out on weekends, know people in all my classes, etc… However, they’re all acquaintances to me. It makes me a little disheartened when I see my hometown friends making solid connections with others at their colleges, which is something I have not really done yet. I feel like I’ve exhausted all options besides greek life. I’m thinking a transfer to a smaller school will give me a better environment to make lifelong friends, but is this a dumb idea? I’m doing well at my current school academically, but just feel like I’m wasting the “best years of my life” with people I don’t really care about and will never see again after graduating. Not looking forward to having no one to take photos with at graduation besides my family. Is this even something I should be concerned about, let alone worth transferring over?

It may be you - meaning, some have a tougher time making good friends. I’m that way.

It may be you need to be a bit more aggressive - ask someone, hey, you want to grab a bite to eat.

It doesn’t sound like you hate it so I’d be careful about transferring - there’s no assurance you’ll become more solid friend wise.

But you really have to decide for yourself if it’s worth it.

Good luck.

3 Likes

I’ll say…it’s the devil you know vs the devil you don’t know. You have no way of predicting whether your friend situation will be better at WM.

6 Likes