Some1 explain U.S university system to me!!

<p>could some1 please explain the U.S university system of credits and majors. I am admitted to College of Engg. as Pre Engg. i want to graduate with a computer science major. What do i have to do once i get there. Wat is all this pre-requisits and stuff? . i know its a dumb ques..but am international and have no idea abt the system.
if some1 could explain this to me in detail would be very helpful!! thx
cheers!</p>

<p>I'm not familiar with the pre-engineering/engineering program, BUT I am a pre-nursing student. I imagine that it's the same general idea behind the two.</p>

<p>Ok, so you're admitted to the pre-engineering program. That really, in essence, means nothing. Right now you could be an "undecided" major-- it wouldn't matter much. I think, the two reasons why they have you listed as a "pre-engineering major" (really, it is NOT a major at all) is that it 1) gives the engineering department a warning, so to speak, that you are probably going to apply for the engineering major soon (i'll explain that part later) and 2) allows you have an academic advisor that's knowledgeable about the engineering requirements.</p>

<p>Again, I'll emphasize one thing: as you stand now, as a pre-engineering student, you CANNOT get a degree in engineering. </p>

<p>Before you get the degree in engineering, you have to first complete a few steps.</p>

<p>a) complete engineering prerequisites. I don't know what yours are, but my nursing prerequisites are 7 classes, mainly in science and some in psychology. I have to complete them with a 2.5 GPA, I believe. The engineering department will have their prerequisites posted on their website. </p>