Subject to Academic Disqualification

<p>I am a 5th year student majoring in computer science at a UC school.
This past quarter I took what is widely regarded as the most difficult undergrad CS course in addition to another hard CS class. I was also in the process of looking for a job in order to have one lined up so that I could start working right after I graduate.</p>

<p>One of the companies interested in me asked me to complete a project for them. The project was fairly difficult and took a significant amount of time, but I knew it was a great opportunity. The company was a great fit for me and the project really excited me.</p>

<p>In the end completing the project for the company payed off. After going in for an interview they offered me a full time position after I graduate.</p>

<p>Now for the sad part…
Meanwhile, during the quarter when I started to realize that I had a workload that was too difficult, I dropped one of my classes with a W. I had expected a curve in the other class due to what I heard about the grade distribution from previous quarters. However, there were some very bright students and overall the class performed very well (significantly better than previous classes). And so the professor chose to not curve the class. I ended up with a D in the class (this is technically considered a passing grade for the class).</p>

<p>So my GPA for the quarter is a 1.0 and I’m subject to academic disqualification.
My cumulative GPA is a 2.5 (which I know is not very good). I also was subject to academic disqualification a year before this before and I successfully appealed. I have been in good standing since I appealed. I am only 14 units away from graduating. Next quarter would be my last. I’m afraid, though, that this time they have no choice but to kick me out since I already went through the appeal process before. I’m just really upset at myself and I feel so frustrated because I’m so close to graduating.</p>