Thoughts on December vs. May graduation?

Hello and happy holidays to all!

I’m a fourth-year chemical engineering student due to graduate in May 2017 (I did a co-op). I recently realized that, if I drop my minor, it is possible for me to graduate in December 2016 (my seventh semester of school). I’m having a hard time making up my mind, and probably won’t make a final decision for a few months at least. I’m just curious what anecdotes or thoughts folks here have about December graduation. Virtually everyone I know at UA has graduated or will graduate on the typical 4-year plan, and a very high percentage of those people are graduate school-bound, whereas I plan to enter the workforce.

I have scholarships to cover that last spring semester, so the only real financial incentive is getting to work a little bit sooner, and that assumes that I have a job right away. I’m really not sure how the December graduation might affect my job prospects. On the one hand, it sounds like it will just leave me with less time to find a position; but on the other hand, most of the serious recruiting seems to happen in the September-October timeframe anyway.

I’d appreciate hearing any success stories, horror stories, or advice about December graduation and job hunting, especially from anyone who is or knows an engineering grad who did it.