"top" boarding schools with cheerleading?

hello, i’m a current grade 8 student (class of '26), looking to apply to a few boarding schools for the upcoming school year. i’m participating in competitive cheerleading, and i have some noticeable/significant awards. because of this, as i’m beginning to think about my applications, i’m looking for some selective boarding schools with a cheerleading program. i know that deerfield has one, but i haven’t, so far, found other selective schools with “competitive” cheerleading.

• are there any schools you know of that have a good cheerleading program (not dance, not gymnastics, just cheerleading, for the sake of clarification)?

thank you so much :>

If you mean like pom poms, High School Musical, Glee cheerleading, such a concept is basically an anathema in boarding schools - at least in the northeast. Perhaps it’s more common in southern schools.

3 Likes

i’m looking to more of the “competitive all star cheer” programs, with more selective and advanced routines. are there any good southern schools you know of with good cheer programs?

Apparently there are 5 boarding schools in the United States that offer cheerleading:

Of those only one would be widely considered to be “top”.

1 Like

Bolles, Baylor, and Webb come to mind.

Are you sure you’re not in the class of 2027 because the class of 2026 will be going into 9th grade this year?
As said before only 5 Boarding Schools offer chearleading as an extracurricular.

Just because BSR only lists 5 does not mean there are only 5; I mentioned 3 up thread that are not included in BSR.

1 Like

thank you for the information! i’ll take a look at those schools.

yes, i am in the class of 26. i am fully aware that '26 is going into 9th grade this year. applications for repeating/going into 10th grade is also available, and that’s why i’m considering boarding school as an option at the moment.