Transfer Student - Please Help

<p>I applied this this spring semester and was denied because I did not have enough foreign language. I only had one semester and I am completing the second semester now and am going to apply again for this upcoming fall semester. In the letter of denial, they indicated my grades and courses were competitive. What does that mean exactly?</p>

<p>My college grades when applying for spring semester and did not get in:
16 credits - 1st semester: 3.33
16 credits - 2nd semester: 3.35</p>

<p>Now I have applied again for fall semester and have received my highest GPA yet while taking seventeen credits. I also registered for my second semester of foreign language so that will no longer be a factor. I am also a student-Athlete at my current institution. Do you believe this will be a big benefit? As it is not as common for athletes to pull good grades with a lot of credits and sport obligations. </p>

<p>17 credits - 3rd Semester: 3.41
College Cumulative: 3.37</p>

<p>I also have two letters of recommendation, one from a high school teacher and one from my college econ professor who indicated I was one of only three students to receive an "A" in his class that semester. My major I will be pursuing at Madison will be economics.</p>

<p>I would appreciate any input on my chances of acceptance. Thanks.</p>

<p>Edit: I believe I wrote a strong first essay. However, I did not write an essay for the second question because it seemed optional and unnecessary. Should I write an essay for the second question? I definitely still have time since Wisconsin does not start reviewing applications until February 1st. If it will hurt me at all, please let me know.</p>

<p>what were your high school grades and act scores? They still take those into consideration (more for sophomore transfer though)?</p>