Transferring to Boston College as a 21 year-old sophomore on the spectrum

I’m a 21 year-old sophomore considering transferring to BC. I’m worried whether I’ll fit into the student body and if I’ll be able to have a supportive group of friends.

I’m similar to the student body because my parents’ income is high, my high school was highly regarded, and I’m from the Boston area. However, I’m also dissimilar from the student body because I started college when I was 20, am from an immigrant family, am on the spectrum, and, while I like to go to parties, I don’t like to drink.

Another concern is that I survived bullying and toxic friendships at my wealthy Massachusetts high school. That’s why I started college late: I needed time to myself to recover. People from the popular group all the way down to the nonpopular “friend” group I was in ostracized, humiliated, and seggsually harassed me. Are the type of narcissists who showed their true colors the type to go to BC? Is Boston College a safe space for people like me?

1 Like

Why transfer at all-- can’t you stay where you are?

1 Like

Agree…why transfer? Is your current college problematic in some way? Stay where you are, get your degree…and then move on.

The school I go to, has very low level academics, is a slight step up from a community college, and a degree from there is essentially worthless unless you want to be an elementary school teacher or a nurse. Many people either transfer out or get a master’s in their subject to be employable, but most don’t make enough money to live in the nice parts of Boston or NYC.

It is also a very dry campus. There are no parties except for school dances, like high school.

The problems are academics and social scene. The only good degrees here are elementary education and nursing, which I am not interested in. The academics in STEM and business are at a lower level than surroudning colleges. Graduates from here have lower salaries than I would like.