**UC San Diego Class of 2025 Discussion**

Now that the UC application submission filing period has opened, I have posted a thread for discussions regarding the UC campuses. Please post any questions of interest in regards to the specific UC campuses and the UC application process.

Best of luck to all.

6 Likes

My out of state son is applying for International Studies.
UC UW GPA 4, UC CW GPA 4.31, UC UCW GPA 4.46
EC’s good, State Department Merit Scholarship NSLI-Y summer 2020 (virtual due to COVID)
Personal insight essays - who knows, decent?
His dad is a UCSD alumnus (Muir).
Also applying to UCLA, UCB, and UCSB.

@parent-21 Good luck to your son. You may already know this but the UCs don’t take legacy into account.

Oh, I know - just an explanation as to why he is very interested as an out-of-state student. I went to UT Austin and they don’t care a hoot about legacy as well.

@parent-21 Looks like a strong applicant. Good luck to your son.

Hey guys I’m a current UCSD student majoring in Cognitive and Behavioral Neuroscience. Let me know if you have any questions about the application process, campus, etc!

2 Likes

Hey SomniRat, I actually applied to UCSD this year as a Cognitive Science major. I’m interested in specializing in Design and Interaction, but am open to discover/dip my toe in some of the others as well. What do you like/dislike about the major so far?

1 Like

Good job on applying!

What I really like about Cog Sci is that it’s a very versatile major. There are different specializations and interesting fields you can go into with Cog Sci. The major gears its students towards research so you’ll find that (depending on your specialization) your classes will involve more neuroscience or more math/programming, or a bit of both which is awesome!