UC Santa Cruz or UC Berkeley? (Out-of-State)

I should start by saying I’m an Arizona resident, but due to personal reasons I’d like to attend college out of state. I was almost completely prepared to go to UCSC, but a couple weeks ago I was surprised to find out I was accepted into both Berkeley and Tufts University. All that kind of threw a wrench in my plans. Tufts is just too far away for me, so I’m between UC Berkeley and UC Santa Cruz.

I know it’s kind of a weird question; Berkeley seems like the obvious choice at first glance. But considering this is just my undergraduate degree and I plan to go to graduate school, I don’t know how much it matters where specifically I get my Bachelors degree from. Especially since I’ve also heard that Berkeley is infamous for the difficulty of its undergrad program(weeding classes, GPA deflation, crazy-huge class sizes, cutthroat competition, etc.). I have autism (and not the kind that makes me a genius!), so I’m a bit worried about how I’ll function in that kind of atmosphere…but at the same time, I’m scared I’d be passing up an incredible opportunity if I don’t attend.

As for the campuses, I’ve visited both and loved them, but I think I slightly prefer the location of Santa Cruz.

Money isn’t much of an issue, but I still want to be sure I’m making the wisest investment. I know I’m going to have to pay a lot with both choices since I’m a nonresident, but Santa Cruz has offered me 10k a year. On the other hand, I’d argue the prestige of Berkeley puts it up there with Ivy-ish private schools that charge that much anyways.

My planned major is Physics with a focus in Astronomy and a potential minor in music (viola/violin). I’m very interested in pursuing research opportunities (which I know both schools offer extensively in Astrophysics, but I feel like there’s definitely way less competition at Santa Cruz).