UCs other than cal/ucla WORTH the oos tuition?

<p>Hello,</p>

<p>I’m an oos student, and I’ve applied to 5 UCs. Berkeley, UCLA, San Diego, Irvine, and Davis. The reason that I applied to so many is because I never got a chance to visit any of them, so I would like the options if available. Plus, I know my chances of simply getting into ONE school is very slim because I’m oos. However, I always hear people talking about how oos tuition is not worth going to UCs (around $45 - 50 k a year?)… And I didn’t even realize how expensive it was… I’m pretty much doubting that I will get into Berkeley and UCLA, which from what I’ve heard, are fantastic schools, and probably worth the tuition… however, what about the rest of them? I’m sure they are amazing schools also, but $50 k a year amazing??</p>

<p>Honestly I would say that its still worth attending the UCs just because the ones you've listed are among the top 50 nation wide. Ya, 45-50k is a lot but after you've gone to a UC for a year and gained California-resident ship (I think --- please ask others to varify on this) your costs will go way down (22-25k). You should have also applied to cal states especially SLO, Pomona, Fullerton and LB which are ,on avg, 10k per year less than what the UCs cost.
hope this helped
~amby262roy</p>

<p>As a student, let me defend UCI:</p>

<p>UCI certainly has many standout programs and is in several ways ahead of Davis.</p>

<p>The chemistry program (and science in general) is extremely strong. UCI has three nobel laureates in chemistry. UCI just had more fellows named to the AAAS than any other institution in the nation.
Today@UCI:</a> Press Releases:</p>

<p>UCI is also prominent in Neuroscience and is one of only a few institutions extensively conducting stem cell research-they're currently in the process of building a huge, new stem cell research facility.</p>

<p>It's creative writing program is consistently ranked in the top three in the country. Same with criminology.</p>