UCSB vs Bryn Mawr vs Scripps vs Stony Brook - pls help!

Hi everyone,

The people here on CC have been immeasurably helpful in these past few crazy, unpredictable months of college applications. That’s why I figured I’d ask for help one last time.

I’ve been accepted into some great schools, and I’ve narrowed it down to these four-- UCSB, Bryn Mawr, Scripps, and SUNY Stony Brook. Because of COVID, I am not going to be able to visit any of the schools (except for perhaps Stony Brook, as I am a NY resident and can take a drive up there without needing to break any travel regulations). I was wondering if any current students or parents could offer some insight or advice regarding any of these schools?

For reference:

• I am fortunate enough to not require financial aid (though of course I don’t want to be stupid about any of this, and I understand that Stony Brook is HALF the tuition price of the rest. However, this is not my deciding factor.)

• I’ve always wanted to go to a big school, but I’d be fine with a smaller school as long as I have access to a city. I don’t want to feel isolated or like I can’t meet new people.

• I would be comfortable in the environment of a historically women’s college – I’ve heard that Bryn Mawr and Scripps are extremely progressive, and as a gay person, that is definitely important to me. However, I’m worried that HWCs – Bryn Mawr in particular – might be TOO liberal. Don’t get me wrong, I lean 1000% left on all social issues, but I identify as an independent/libertarian. How isolating will this be?