UMass Lowell Nursing Program

Hi! I’m a current junior looking at schools right now. For some background, I am a Massachusetts resident with about a 4.2 gpa weighted and 1490 SAT score. I am primarily looking at Lowell as a back up to Amherst (which I have heard has the better nursing program and a better reputation). I visited the school (only the south campus) and was pleasantly surprised with the facilities, especially the newer health sciences building. However, neither the tour guide nor the person who gave the info session (some sort of admission officer) could answer my specific questions about the nursing program:

What is the acceptance rate (around) and what are the average stats of nursing admits?
Where do clinicals take place (this is the most important question for me)?
How many clinical hours are part of the program?
What is the NCLEX passrate?

Does anyone know the answers to these questions?

Additionally, I didn’t get the chance to meet with a nursing student so I didn’t get to hear any personal accounts of the program or get a true “feel for” for the program and the type of students who attend. Does anyone have any experience with this program or know of anyone who attends/attended?

Any info would be greatly appreciated!

Hi @massstudent1224 We found that the tour guides at most schools did not know nursing specific info so you need to call the nursing school directly to get needed information. The NCLEX pass rate for Lowell was 96 percent in 2018. Good luck

Last year we were told that they do clinicals in three locations and a student requests their preference: Larger Lowell area, Boston area and Worcester area.

You can reach out directly to the nursing school and ask your questions.