UMass or Case Western for Biology

I’m an intl student, and UMass Amherst and CWRU are my top two decisions so far.
I’m majoring in Biology, and want to become a researcher in biotech in the future. Also planning to do grad school.

I want (and have) to do a lot of paid internships, work part-time on campus, and get scholarships to afford school. I’m not a party nor sports person. I’m leaning towards CWRU cause I love cities and the school appeals to me, but I’m not sure about the biotech opportunities there (plus its more expensive). UMass cause Boston nearby is a biotech hub and cheaper, but I’m not sure about the rural setting and its party school reputation.

Side question, but is it possible to land a good job in Boston if I graduate from Case? I’m planning to work a year or two before going to grad school.

CWRU costs 48k/yr and UMass, 44k/yr. My EFC is about 34k/yr.

Which school would be better for me?

Any good advice would mean a lot! I’ve been mulling about this for weeks now, but I don’t have anybody I can talk to who’s informed about stuff like this.

Will you have a car…because otherwise UMass isn’t “nearby” enough to Boston.

And Amherst is a bustling college area.

1 Like

Can you afford either ? Both will offer opportunities for research.

The major may be tougher for jobs and international students will need a sponsor. There may be some leeway for internships or further schooling. You’d need to research.

Someone from cwru can certainly end up in Boston. But as you are international, you should assume not saying in the US. If you can, you’ve hit the sponsorship lottery.

Best of luck.

nope, no car. But I heard that many Boston companies recruit in amherst, hence I thought there would be better opportunities for internships and jobs? Is it false?

I think taking a look at the career office is a good idea.

Jackson Labs is in Farmington CT…not all that far from UMass. Wondering if they take interns from there.