UMIAMI IS NOT A RICH KID HAVEN!! I Don't Know Where These Stereotypes Come From. Read

<p>Okay. I'm a freshman at the University of Miami and I don't get what the hype about "rich-kid haven" is all about.</p>

<p>Please read this whole thing over. I hope this post will change everyone's perception about what really is considered 'rich' in our society.</p>

<p>First off: Cars. Yes, I walk around the student parking lots. What do I see? Mercedes after Mercedes, BMWs galore, Lexuses to fill the moon. So? Is that enough to say that UM is bangin rich? NO! Did you know that a 2006 Mercedes can be paid for with monthly financing of $450 for 4 years? Have you been to cars.com? Did you notice that some used Mercedes can be bought for the price of a new Honda? In fact, my parents are buying me a Mercedes for my birthday this Fall for only $450 a month. The down payment is only the price of a Jetta. Hey, we're not rich. We have a household income of $180K. That's upper-middle class. We don't consider ourselves rich at all. We're just "well-off." Hey, I even wear designer sunglasses. But I'm not rich!</p>

<p>Second: Do you have any idea how many kids at UM are on scholarships? I was talking to my friend from New York the other day. He drives a 2006 BMW Z4 (bought it for $40,000). I asked him why he chose UMiami. And his reply? "Because of the scholarship." Woah. Hold on. Rewind for a second there. This kid's family lives on Long Island, he drives a BMW, and he actually needs FINANCIAL AID??? And I thought U-Miami kids were all spoiled brats? Nope, not at all. Get it straight people. Just because some kid lives in a big house, drives a BMW, doesn't classify him as 'rich'! He's just 'well off'.</p>