UNC vs. UGA Honors

Hi, I’m an out of state student from the northeast deciding between UNC Chapel Hill or UGA with the Honors Program. UGA has also given me a scholarship that is about half the sticker price of UNC, and while the full out of state tuition is not a dealbreaker for me, it is a factor. I think the Honors Program at UGA may level out the academic playing field, but I’m not sure, especially considering post-graduate opportunities.

Beyond just cost and academics is the campus culture too. I’ve found that UGA’s Greek Life is huge, and I just worry the school will be too big. Yet, I don’t have the Honors community at UNC, like I would at UGA.

Needless to say, it’s a hard choice. Any help would be awesome, thank you so much!

If money isn’t an issue I’d take UNC all day and I went to UGA.

3 Likes

Agreed. Honors should be a factor for the student experience. Not for a job.

Pedigree wise and UGA is rising rapidly but UNC is a forever top school. UGA is huge. But you can always make a big school small. Often schools have a living learning community etc. so not Honors but u can still get ‘extras’.

Money is ALWAYS important. UNC is great but loads of people will do better out of UGA.

So fit which sounds like UNC. You can find the extras you seek. But also finances. No debt !!

If you got into UNC there has to be other great schools you got into with Honors like U of SC. are there any other choices ??

1 Like

I’d recommend UGA Honors. UGA Honors will have higher caliber students than UNC as a whole (check the stats) and better outcomes than the average UNC student. There are lots of Honors only opportunities that will help you stand out. UGA Honors has a great reputation in industry and with elite grad programs. It’s also a great community and you will find that many of your friends will be other honors students. If you are concerned about Greek life, definitely live in the honors dorm freshman year.

Easy decision choosing UGA Honors, imo.

3 Likes