University of Alabama or Mississippi State for Engineering

Hello everyone!
I am a transfer mechanical engineering student. I was heavily leaning towards UA until I visited both universities a few days ago, and now I am torn. I liked both campuses, but the atmosphere of MSU’s engineering department seemed to be a lot more collaborative, supportive, and just WAY more friendly then that of Alabama. The engineering faculty/students at Alabama seemed way less approachable by comparison. Nearly every engineer, faculty member, and really anyone I stopped to ask for directions (at MSU) was more than willing to assist me. I have also read student reviews online about Alabama’s social life, and it seems to mostly involve bars, greek life, and parties. I would like to try to establish connections while in college, but I don’t drink, and I am not a party person at all. I know these activities would exist at any university, but they seem to be the main attractions for most students at UA. My question is, are my perceptions wrong? Is Alabama not as “clicky” and unapproachable as they seemed during my campus/engineering tour? I am from the state of Alabama, and I would love to finish my education at my state school. But I am fearful that I may end up unhappy there if it’s really like I’ve described above.

UA’s College of Engineering has had amazing growth over the last ten years. For several years, UA in fact had the largest freshman Engineering classes in the entire state. There was a dip in the size of the freshman class last fall for some reason. But UA is also getting the best engineering students. It’s College of Engineering freshman classes now have the highest avg. ACT in the state, despite Auburn’s program having the overall better rep over the years. So UA must be doing something right to have grown its Engineering program so rapidly, with such quality.