Volunteer Hours?

<p>I'm currently a college freshman majoring in biology, but I'm actually more interested in nursing. Luckily for me, my school has a nursing program, but it's pretty tough to get into. I want to start volunteering or interning to get some experience.</p>

<p>If I volunteer at a hospital, is there any volunteer work that specifically related to a nurse's job? I'm also interested in pediatrics and labor & delivery. Would it be possible to have volunteer work related to those specialties? What were some of your volunteer experiences?</p>

<p>D did exactly what you’d like to do, during this past summer.(between junior and senior year of HS)…Not sure if you can actually pick and choose labor and delivery/pediatrics,but D volunteered in those programs…</p>

<p>Choose a local hospital, and look online for their volunteer hours NOW. Near us, even volunteer jobs fill up quickly and if you wait until May or June you may find that they are gone. </p>

<p>Also, there may be various groups that contract with the hospital. Last year, D1 got a job with the group that does logistics for the ER even though she was too young to qualify for any job that the hospital itself would have hired for.</p>

<p>I can’t really think of any volunteer opportunities that would be needed in L & D but I’m sure in Pediatrics there must be some. You might contact the head nurse on Pediatrics and ask her what she would like to see on her unit. Perhaps story hour where you could read to the kids or if you play an instrument that might be fun. You would have to be an official hospital volunteer to work there but with a little brainstorming you could come up with something to offer.</p>