VT vs PITT

<p>I am completely stuck between Virginia tech and u of Pitt... i got into VT's hnfe program and I'm undecided for pitt. Overall I'm really undecided but i definitely want to pursue a career in something with math or science. I'm not sure if going to VT for something other than engineering would be a smart decision tho. could someone help :(</p>

1 Like

<p>You are right, VT is an engineering college, but they are also known for several other departments as well. There’s architecture, business, chemistry, biology, and I’m sure there are others. VT is very well known as a research institute. So pretty much anything you major in you can find some type of internship or research opportunity. I’m a sophomore Biological Sciences/Pre-Med major and I’ve found numerous opportunities for research for my current major. When I was general engineering about a month ago I was constantly getting e-mails regarding undergraduate research.</p>

<p>As for Pitt, I know nothing about them. They may be just as much of a research institute as Virginia Tech. All I can tell you is that Virginia Tech is a great school for just about any major you get yourself into. If you are planning to pursue HNFE, there are probably plenty of opportunities for you to get involved and be successful in that major.</p>

<p>If you have any further questions about VT, feel free to PM me.</p>

<p>Well, there are a few things to consider.</p>

<p>Location: Pittsburgh and Blacksburg are very, very different places. I actually really like Pittsburgh, although I don’t know what part of Pittsburgh Pitt is in. Blacksburg is pretty much the definition of a college town. If you’re looking for a smaller town where everything (and I mean everything) is centered around the university (which I very much do) then Blacksburg is the place for you. If you’re looking for a big city that has a ton going on then you’ll like Pittsburgh more.</p>