want to hear from those Hokie parents/students

<p>As expected its probably going to come down to Vtech or PSU for my S who is interested in computer engineering. He has been accepted to both schools as an engineering major. He has also visited the schools several times and likes both (similar type campuses so at least he knows what he likes). He's leaning towards Vtech because it feels "more comfortable to him". We'd like to hear from parents of engineering students and student themselves with opinions and experiences positive or negative. Are your kids happy and liking their classes? Are you as students loving still loving TECH?? Any thoughts appreciated. Any computer engineers out there with info?</p>

<p>I’m an engineering graduate. I can write more later, but PSU and VT are very similar in a lot of ways, and I don’t think he’d be missing out on anything at either.</p>

<p>Those are both great schools to have to choose from. Son is a junior in engineering at VT and has done very well there, Dean’s list every semester. No major problems getting the classes he needs. Only had potential issue with getting one class so far but did a force/add type thing and it worked out.Likes VT alot.Kids seem pretty down to earth in general. Enjoys the football and basketball games. He did a week long volleyball camp at Penn State when he was in high school so we saw Penn State then. Both schools have very nice campuses. VT has a smaller , more compact feel to me than Penn State. VT seems pretty manageable in getting around. Good luck with the decision.</p>

<p>Congratulations on your son’s admittance to two top schools; you must be very proud!
My son is in Industrial Design so I can’t speak for Engineering classesb but you mentioned in your post that your son said that VT felt “more comfortable to him”, I think that when a student feels comfortable and enjoys the school he or she will be a better student.