What is best in my situation, IB or AP?

Hello, I’m currently a junior and this is the first year my school is offering the IB program. Last year I signed up for it but then backed out because I read that colleges don’t really give you as much credit for IB classes as they do for AP.

Today was the first day of school and, for some reason, they didn’t take me out of the program and i’m currently enrolled in it. My classes are: english hl, spanish hl, chemistry hl, pysics sl, math studies (only ib math available), and APush. My physics teacher told us that the ib physics sl is the same as ap physics 1 and encouraged us to take the ap physics exam, if that is true, why don’t colleges give credit for it? Anyway, if I were to get out of the program I will take: ap lit, ap physics, reg chemistry, apush, precal, and english 9 (im a foreign student and need the credits).

I want to be pre med, and I’d like to go to a school with a good pre med program but i’m confused as to what would look better in my college application (AP or IB)? Would getting the ib diploma look good even if my gpa/grades aren’t as better as if i’d taken the ap’s? Thank you in advance.

I am a parent and my son got his IB diploma outside US. AP and IBDP are different curriculum. IBDP emphasises a lot on reading, critical thinking, analysis and writing up essays and thesis. IBDP is considered the most rigorous curriculum by most universities in the world. I don’t know the reason of students taking random IB subjects to replace AP subjects. For my son and his classmates, taking 3 HL subjects,3 SL subjects, TOK, EE and fulfilling the CAS hours are the normal path to obtain the IBDP.
One note on math studies: in my son’s school, only students who can’t handle math choose Math studies. Those students usually take double Art subjects such as musics, theatre, visual arts and are planning to go to Art school or Film school. If you are capable to doing math, don’t waste time on math studies.