Which activity should I select?

Hello! I’m a current 9th grader attending an international school (I’m a Korean student).

I have been part of both cheerleading and performing (theater) throughout middle school, but due to schedule adjustments, athletics practices and musical performances occur at the same time now. I need to commit to either activity ASAP, but I can’t decide.

As for cheerleading, I’m part of the Junior National Team, and will be competing in the US next year. Auditions for the school musical hasn’t happened yet, but I’ve been part of school productions for quite a long time. I enjoy both activities so much, so I’ll have to make a decision based on how much each activity will help me in the future (uni admissions).

At hindsight, it seems evident that the cheer team will be a better choice – after all, it’s a national team, and could help me in future admission cycles. But it brings a small financial burden (will cost approximately 10k+), and I won’t be able to be part of the team the next school year. I don’t know if being on the national junior team in the freshman year will be helpful in college applications.

Being part of the musical would mean that I cannot participate in both the national and school team, but it seems like a wonderful opportunity.

I love both activities so much, and I can’t find a way to decide. Which one should I choose? Or is there an “alternative?”

(If it helps, I want to apply to schools like Brown/UChicago/Yale in the future)

Choose the one that is most important to you - not your application.

Which do you have a passion for, which can you not live without.

That’s the energy/enthusiasm you’ll convey to schools.

You do activities for you - to show authenticity and love. And it’s your life - and one vs. the other probably isn’t going to tip the scales to Brown/Chicago/Yale - and you’re in 9th grade - if you even have the academic profile to get into them (waaaaay too early to know).