Why was my math score lower?

Hi! I took the ACT for the first time earlier this month and got my results back yesterday. I (a sophomore) got a 35 in reading, 34 in English, 32 in science, and 29 in math. These are good scores and I am happy with them, but I am a bit confused. In school and state testing, I do better in math than English/reading, I enjoy math and science a lot more than English, and I studied for the math section way more than anything else. Is this a common occurrence or did I probably just get nervous and make careless mistakes? Any tips for next time? I am currently in gifted precalculus if that makes a difference. I took algebra 2 and geometry last year, and I took algebra 1 in 8th grade.

My kids had tutors who taught them strategies, went over problems they got wrong, told them why they made the mistakes. Definitely go over wrong answers on practice tests.

3 Likes

Thank you!

Did you prepare for the exam? If not I suggest you get a review book and prep for the math section.

As a test prep tutor, here are my thoughts on the most common reasons kids mess up on tests that they expect to do well on.

1. By far, running out of time on the ACT is the most common reason kids don’t do as well as they hoped to.

2. They think they know the subject already, so don’t need to prep. (I tutor the verbal sections, and many of my students come to me after bombing reading and/or English on one or two tests. They think they already know those things, so they don’t study much.)

3. They don’t pay enough attention to the earlier, easier questions (questions generally progress in difficulty) and don’t realize they’ve done them wrong, and spend too much time on the harder questions that they might get wrong anyway. They fail to understand that the easy point is worth as much as the hard point. Get as many easy ones correct as you can.