Will my college staffs hate me for this

I am a student who will be starting college in spring (because I’m a spring admit).
But I got a call last week from my school’s admission counselor and she told me they can move my admission to fall. I said yes (without thinking much). But if I start in the fall, I would have to pay tuition in August, and my family is not financially stable and can’t pay the tuition that soon. So I had to call the admission counselor back and ask to change my admission to spring.
She sounded a bit bothered… She said it’s a very complicated process to move back the files and sounded annoyed by me.
I hate the fact that my college counselor already seems to not like me. And I’m worried if other staff members of the college will hate me for this.
Does this sound like a big deal? Should I apologize again through emails?

You do not need to apologize and there is a 99% chance you will never have any interaction with the admissions office once you begin school in the Spring and it would be far fetched to think a message went out to professors or administrators - that is not something you need to worry about at all.

If you want to send a follow up email (and I recommend you do it to have it in writing) you can reiterate how you are looking forward to joining X college in the Spring. You can apologize for accepting Fall prior to checking with your parent’s about the financial feasibility - just good to have it in writing, if you do not already that you are not enrolling in Fall and still enrolling in the Spring. There is no need to overly apologize - you did the smart thing for your family and you.

I would check this off your worry list - and enjoy college !

9 Likes

Thank you for the reply!!
I already sent a message apologizing briefly, but should I send another follow up message to her explaining about my situation more in detail one last time?