Workload

<p>I was just wondering what the average work load is like? Obviously it varies by major for Chemical Engineering majors are going to have a lot more work than say a Communication major. I am a sophomore transfer majoring in Legal Studies. I was just wondering what the average workload is like. Are most people in the library Monday-Thursday and Sunday? I know it obviously depends by majors and classes. Just wondering if I could get a general idea. Where I am transferring from, I am barely working and I taking upper-level Legal classes. NO ONE goes to the library. Really not a challenging environment at all. Really hoping to challenge myself academically at Madison and not take easy, worthless classes I feel like I am taking now. Appreciate the help. Sorry if this is kind of a stupid question. </p>

<p>P.S... If anyone is a Legal Studies major, any advice/tips on classes, workload, etc would be much appreciated.</p>

<p>The workload is intense all around. I, in fact, am a Communications and English Lit major, and my work is cut out for me every day. This is the case across the board here. You are will be doing several hours of work after class every single day - the “easy” classes here demand something of you. Average work load? - maybe 6-8 hours a day of studying on a non-finals week. Of course, this will vary depending on personalities and course schedules (exam weeks, weeks with papers being heavier). Be prepared to have to study all the time - it’s how UW operates. That being said, there’s a work hard, play hard mentality on campus.</p>