Would running an Ebay business be considered paid work?

I have been running an Ebay business for 2 years now and I am not sure how I should categorize it on my college application. I have learned how to grow the business and have sold hundreds of items, but I never registered it as a business to the government so I’m not sure if I should even categorize this extracurricular as “work experience”. I would love to be able to fill in the paid work category of the questbridge application so it’ll free up a space for me to put another impactfull activity I had in the extracurricular section. What do you think I should do?

Have you been reporting the income from this business to the IRS and paying taxes on it? I’d be more worried about that. It’s going to be hard to claim that you had a business that made money, and then show no income on your financial aid forms.

1 Like

I haven’t reported it which is why I am worried… my parents hasn’t filed the 2020 tax form yet, so maybe I’ll just have them report it

You need to report to the IRS if you made more than $20,000 in gross sales AND sold over 200 items in a year. And I wouldn’t count it as paid experience myself.

1 Like

so if I had sold more than 200 items but didn’t make $20,000 would I be fine?

You will not get a 1099 form to report to the irs if you haven’t made 20,000 and sold 200 items. However, the IRS does say if you consider it to be a business, it needs to be reported. Do You Have to Claim eBay Sales on Taxes? | Small Business - Chron.com

And it looks like the limits will be dropping in the near future https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.cnbc.com/amp/2021/03/26/its-going-to-get-harder-to-avoid-telling-the-irs-about-income-from-online-sales.html