Wrote one of my UC statements on being homeless?

I’ve been homeless several times now and had no family income in 2016. One of my prompts was to write about a challenge and how it affected my academic achievement, so I basically wrote about how being homeless a lot and having a dysfunctional family threw me into a depression that got me to care less about school until I found strength, etc, etc. I threw in a short sentence towards the end about how I’m still homeless to emphasize that I’m capable of succeeding academically and stuff… But I remember reading (forgot where) that you should really avoid talking about anything financial because colleges shy away from that?
I’m also not super excellent with my grades. I have a 3.69 GPA since freshman year, only took 2 APs before 12th grade and a couple honors courses, but I’ve never gotten any C’s.
Just wondering if that was a bad thing to write about?

Hi!
I’m a transfer student and I’m not homeless but for that question I did write about how my family’s income got cut in half this past year, we could no longer afford our house, etc… I think you will be fine as long as you didn’t make your financial situation your main point. It sounds like focused on the homeless aspect more and for mine I tried to focus more on how I adjusted to new living standards.
Schools like to have applicants who have real life experience so I think you’ll be fine.

*I mean as long as you focused more on how being homeless affected you from an emotional or academic standpoint rather than a financial one… if I didn’t make that clear enough before…

Let me start by saying how saddened I am by your misfortune. It a really tough thing to deal with, and through no fault of your own. Given your resolve and intelligence, (as demonstrated by your on-time graduation and GPA) as control for your life shifts into your hands, I am pretty confident you won’t find yourself there again.