your experience at university of miami?

<p>For those who attend university of miami, how is your experience in terms of academics, social life, cost of living, friendliness of students, school spirit and pretty much anything else you can add. Thanks!</p>

<p>I am a Freshman Marine Science Chemistry major living in Stanford. I love Miami!
Academic: Miami is a mid-sized school with about 10,000 undergrad students. This allows class sized to be small. There is no escaping the large 100 level lecture classes with 100+ students but as soon as you move into high level classes, class size drops significantly. I am taking a marine physics course with 8 students in it so it is easy to get time with the professor. The professors at Miami are very good. I can say that I have only had one professor thus far who I did not like. Every single class is taught by a professor, not a TA and many of the professors are the leaders in their fields. Miami also has a lot of opportunity for research. I don’t know what field you are interested in but what ever it is, there are plenty of options for internships if you look for them. Many of my friends are doing research in labs or working as interns for large companies including the Miami Heat as freshman. </p>

<p>Social Life: As I’m sure you can guess, Miami has a very active social scene. If you like to party, there are lots of options every weekend. If you are looking for other actives, there are plenty of other things to do as well. There are clubs that hold events at night and on weekends where you can go kayaking and horse back riding and scuba diving. You can also get involved in drama productions through QuantUM and Hurricane Productions. There is an on campus movie theater and there is often a show in the Ring Theater put on by the Theater Students. </p>