Berkeley Haas GMP vs. Williams College (Econ + History)

Hello everyone! I hope you are doing well :slight_smile: I’m sorry to bother you all, but I’m a recent admit to Berkeley GMP, but I’m still split between Berkeley and Williams College in Massachusetts. I would really love your input, and I’m going to list some pros/cons below very briefly. Thank you so much. I hope you have a wonderful day. I would appreciate any feedback and opinions. It would greatly ease my stress.

A little about me: low-income, first-Gen, wants to enter into non-profit business or public service/marketing

Williams

Pros:

1. Small class sizes (7:1 student-teacher ratio) that is so rare and valuable. You really get to know your professor well, and office hours would be accessible/ well-used, get to know people on first-name basis)
  2. Financial aid (one of the best financial aid programs in the country- covered textbooks, storage, funding for concerts/trips,flights). As a low-income student, I got nearly a full-ride ~ 1k
  3. Freshman Pre-Orientation and Entry System (really helps guide freshmen, has separate orientation for first-Gen students, and with an entry group and JA (basically RA) that hosts events to bond))
  4. High grad school placement rates
  5. Oxford style tutorial options (1 professor- 2 student class options that focus on niche subject)
  6. Winter Study: a month where students can go to school-sponsored internships, learn classes on pass/fail, and just learn for the sake of learning (there’s also really cool travel classes where students have traveled to for example, Greece for a classics course that the school covers for students with financial aid)
  7. Housing: On- campus housing guaranteed for all 4 years (about 60% of freshman have singles)

Cons