Tuition Exchange for Fall 2021 Applicants

Just learned about this program today from DH’s work. (Wow, looks pretty amazing so far the very LITTLE I’ve managed to read this evening.)

Is there a thread or group that is already organized for those applying for Fall 2021? If so, please direct me. I searched but no luck other than that of those who applied for Fall 2020.

And, b/c I’m literally learning about this today, I’d value any feedback for someone like me who is just getting started. Complete newbie here.

1 Like

I will be following as well although I have a few years before my son applies. I do have friends/coworkers who have used the program before so I have limited knowledge.

I know the TE is harder and harder to get. Review the percentage of acceptances on the website.

Following. Using TE this year for USC (Southern California, not South Carolina). It’s one of the few schools that stacks TE with their NMF award, making it extremely affordable. Look carefully at award rates and talk directly if you can with representatives at the college your kid is interested in. At some schools, e.g., Rhodes College, they want an ED application for eligiblity. Many schools treat this as a scholarship, so competition can be fierce and awards can be to less than 10% of the applicant pool.

I am also following. I have twins who are seniors this year. It will be interesting to see how the whole process plays out in this strangest of years!

I would be interested to hear where they apply and get accepted if you are willing to share. My friends senior who is applying TE is choosing less popular/higher TE acceptance schools so it will be interesting to see how it all ends up. (the Child has already been accepted to the schools, just has to await the financial aspect with TEP in spring which is nerve-wracking for her).