1st Semester & Transfer Discussion

<p>Hey guys, I'm a freshman at NVCC (Just started in August), looking to transfer to Virginia Tech majoring in ME, in two years. Unfortunately I couldn't get the college vibe down in the first half of the semester. I'm taking 12 credits, got my AP credits for English thank god.</p>

<p>Communications: A (Shouldn't even be a class tbh)
Engineering Elective: Haven't taken midterm yet but I should have an A - 2 credit class.
Calc: 75%
Chemistry: 78%</p>

<p>Well so far I'm busting my tail off to get a B in calculus since I screwed a lot of things up and Chemistry is just a matter of pushing it a little further for a B or running the big mile for an A.</p>

<p>At first I was convinced by one of my friends to withdraw Calc because of my 70% a few weeks ago and I guess I decided to get back in with it because a W would look like crap on my records and quitting isn't my thing. Realistically I'm probably going to end up with a GPA somewhere from 2.5-3.25... I'm just trying to figure out if that's crap or not.</p>

<p>I read the actual letter of Guaranteed transfer agreement it says you need a B in all math and science classes to guarantee a spot in the engineering program... Not sure if that is a solid letter B or the average has to be a 3.0...</p>

<p>I'm trying to get a sense of what level I need to be on if any of it matters though I do understand, worst comes to worst all I can do is focus on what I messed up on and improve on it.</p>

<p>I also have a part time job... Min-wage, work like 2 days a week. Not sure if I should quit.</p>