A Complete Change: Accounting to Nursing

<p>Hey everyone,</p>

<p>Been a long time roamer here at CC but it's about time that I post, since I'm in a serious quandary.</p>

<p>Basically, I've just finished my 3rd year at UC Riverside as a Business Admin Major with a specific concentration in accounting. Yet, while I do enjoy accounting, I've been pondering about nursing for a long time now and I'm at the point where I'm thinking about making a completely drastic change in my life and go looking into nursing. I've always loved helping people out and I love interaction with people. While numbers crunching is perfectly fine with me, I've just felt that maybe nursing would be a better fit for me and my personality.</p>

<p>Obviously, with my studies focusing on accounting, I've got very little background in the scientific field. I do have a 3.45 GPA with my current major, but since I don't have much science classes (I took botany as my science req all the way back my first quarter of freshman yr so I don't even have the general bio class), would my current GPA that I have with accounting mean anything when I look into programs for nursing?</p>

<p>My main question is, being so far into my accounting, would it be absolutely stupid to just suddenly focus on the science classes required to get into nursing schools while dropping all my business related studies? For example, drop my accounting classes/business ethics classes that I still need to take to finish my business degree for anatomy/chem/sociology etc.
Or should I maybe just finish my Business Admin degree with a concentration in Accounting and then look into one of those Second Degree BSN programs or Accelerated BSN programs?</p>