A little concerned...

<p>I'm a sophomore thinking about the IB program. As of right now I'm taking AP world history, Spanish 101, algebra 2, band, chemistry, and English 2 adv. I'm also starting a medical club and in varsity tennis since freshman year. The upcoming IB program is starting next year with HL chemistry, English, and history of the America's. the SL are Spanish, music theory, and math studies. They are planning to keep band as 1st period and have theory of knowledge as a 7th period. That means I won't be able to do the clubs that I like. What I want to know is if its worth it to give up sports and clubs to do the entire ib program. How many hours do u usually have homework? Are you able maintain straight A's. I'm trying to figure out if I should go full IB or take some ib and AP so that I could still do sports and clubs. Thanks for your time guys! :)</p>

<p>I think it’s a matter of what you decide your priorities are. In the IB program at my school, it was rare for someone to keep a 4.0 through full IB, but I did manage it. I also didn’t back off on my extracurriculars (actually stepped up some of them), and took a college course and some AP tests. But something had to give. In my case, it was sleep. I wasn’t sure if I would be able to handle it, but my logic was something like this: I knew that I would regret it and wonder “what if” if I didn’t go for the IB diploma. I also knew that if I started it and changed my mind I could drop to the certificate, but I couldn’t do the reverse.
So I think you have to think really hard about what your priorities are. My approach was to try to do ALL the things, and then drop something if necessary when the time came. Definitely the most stressful approach, and when it came to it I didn’t want to give anything up. For giving up clubs/sports, what do you mean by “worth it”? Do you mean this from the college admissions perspective, or in the personal satisfaction sense?</p>