Is IB (really) right for me?

<p>Hi everyone! If you can't tell by my username, which you're probably looking at right about now, I'm really interested in the IB Diploma Program. Right now, I'm a sophomore in high school. I've talked to peers who are taking the full IBDP, peers who aren't, and my counselor about whether or not I should do it. It seems to be a great fit for me, but what's your opinion?</p>

<p>I go to a public high school, so there's none of that fancy IB prep. We utilize block schedules (4 days: ABCD, with 4 blocks, where every other day is identical except for Phys Ed and science lab), which allow you to take up to 7 courses/year. Freshman year I took Honors Geometry, Biology, AP World 9 (school divides World into two years), Spanish 2, Pre-AP English, and Orchestra. This year I'm taking Algebra 2/Trig Honors, AP Chem, AP World 10, Spanish 3, AP Language/Comp, AP Psych, and Orchestra. I loaded up on APs mostly because I'm interested, but also because I think it'll help me to transition into the massive workload I've heard you're presented with by IB.</p>

<p>About the philosophy of IB (more depth, less compartmentalization, critical thinking...), I think that I'd really be interested in having a school experience that's not as composed of classes that don't really fit together, and learning where its only purpose is preparing for "the exam." I also think that, even though everyone says that it's a ton of stress, TOK and all the internal essays and readings will be interesting, albeit difficult.</p>

<p>Do you think I'm a good "fit" for the IB Diploma Program? :)</p>

<p>... And now for some more questions:</p>