Advice for Freshman Engineering Students?

<p>I can't wait to move to Blacksburg this August...
Any advice for this soon-to-be Freshman engineering student? .....
thanks and Go HOKIES!</p>

<p>I think people could better help you if you specified some of the things you wanted to know</p>

<p>Yeah, if there’s anything specific, or even general, then we can probably help a lot more. FYI I’m an engineering grad from, oh my god, 3 years ago.</p>

<p>But in general, try to be involved with stuff going on on campus, groups you find interesting, intramural sports, stuff like that. If you do a frat or sorority that’ll kind of take care of that for you but if you don’t (and you don’t have to to have a fantastic social life) you should try and get out quite a bit.</p>

<p>Somewhat related, try to be in your dorm as little as possible. Do homework in the library, study in the library or wherever you find relaxing, just get out and be out as much as you can. Especially while the weather is nice.</p>

<p>Partying is fun. I did it a lot, even in engineering. Sometimes you won’t have time to, and then don’t. I’d go a couple weeks, especially during finals and midterms, where I just didn’t have time to hang out with my friends much. I did study with friends though, so that helped. Sometimes I would be able to go out 2-3 nights a week. It just depends on your workload at any given time and how you manage your time.</p>

<p>Explore! Explore campus, downtown (walkable off campus,) and the local area. Take a day trip to Roanoke. Walk around Blacksburg. Just walk around downtown sometimes; it’s about 10-15 minutes to do a lap of it and you stay a little connected with whats going on in town. I loved campus, but I felt a lot more at home in Blacksburg once I started getting more connected with the town.</p>